Day 11

Today was the first day I felt REALLY annoyed by the program. I don’t know if it is because I didn’t prep that well and I had a ton of errands to run or what. It definitely stressed me out knowing that I had to meal prep before I could eat. In any event, it showed me that I really need to prep better. This Sunday, I plan to prep as many things in advance as I can for next week. Being a short order cook is not for me. In the interest of freshness, I will also take Wednesday to prep for the remainder of the week. I hope this makes a difference for me, as I plan to do the program backwards for the 21 days following my official reset. I am not sure if D and Friend S are on board for that so I might be flying solo. We shall see.

Breakfast was a shake, which I love obviously. Lunch was quinoa and lentil salad (love that there are more repeats in week 2- makes life a LOT easier) and a cucumber and tomato salad. Both were delicious.  Dinner was tricky. I spent most of the day running errands- picking up gifts for O’s teachers, getting birthday presents, dry cleaning- fun times. Usually, I have the late afternoons free to make up for whatever prep I failed to do the night before. Today, however, we had O’s end of the year party. I really cannot stress enough how much I love her class. The teachers and the kids are all so amazing. It really was such a special year. Side note: the amount of ice cream, donuts, cupcakes, cookies, etc., at this party was VERY hard to resist. I am proud to say that resist, I did. Not even a taste. This was the first time I felt even remotely tempted. I think my mood had something to do with it, proving once again that I am an emotional eater. I am proud of myself for not giving in.

We got home after 5:00 p.m. and the thought of just starting dinner did not thrill me. Luckily, the reset has certain “quick” options for when you are pressed for time. I used quotation marks for a reason. While, the recipes did involve less steps than some of the other traditional recipes, they were definitely more involved than my normal fare. I must say that I give vegans a TON of credit because you have to REALLY believe in this way of life for it not to feel like a grind. Or maybe I am missing some shortcuts? Hey vegans…any prep short cuts you want to throw my way for the next few weeks? I would be eternally grateful.  Dinner wound up being garlic vegetables (so good) with quinoa and miso soup. It was worth waiting for.

Bedtime was hard as O is really struggling with school ending this week. She keeps saying that she wishes it was the first day of Miss B’s class and not the last. She has cried over it at least 5 times this week and I just feel helpless. I know exactly how she feels, yet I don’t know how to make it better. Before bed last night she said “I am happy I have these memories, I just wish Miss B, Miss S and Miss L were the only teachers in the world so that I could always have them”. My sweet little O, such an old soul. Tomorrow is graduation! I cannot believe O is going to Kindergarten. I am feeling very Sunrise, Sunset over here this week.

Leave a Reply

