days 15 and 16

Normally, I wake up at 5:00 am and sit down to write my blog post about the previous day. I slept in yesterday because O woke up in the middle of the night crying from ear pain. It was a looooooong night and I could barely form a coherent thought, let alone blog about it. I gave myself permission to combine day 15 and 16. Hope you guys weren’t too devastated about my missing post yesterday. I just know you were all sitting there, holding your breath in anticipation.

Day 15 was the first official day of Camp Mom, aka the three weeks between the end of school and the start of camp. As a work at home mom, the struggle is real. It is so hard to carve out time to get work done. Couple that with having to fill soooooooo many hours to occupy an active toddler and pre-schooler? I have anxiety just typing that. Day 15 was also the first day of phase 3, a week consisting of solely fruit and vegetable based meals. My timing is nothing short of impeccable.

For breakfast (and for every breakfast this week) I had a gigantic fruit plate. Seriously, it was the most fruit I have ever consumed in one sitting. I also discovered that Kiwi triggers my oral allergy syndrome (along with Mango). Of course, I have no adult Benadryl in the house so I took a hefty dose of grape flavored Children’s Benadryl. By 8:00 I was ready for a nap. Took a 15 minute disco nap and I felt better.

I made plans to go to Brooklyn to see my coach and friend, M. She has two girls who are around the same ages as my lunatics. Our friend S and her 2 kids also came over. M, S and I are all doing the Ultimate Reset, so that made taking the kiddos for pizza and ice cream so much easier. There is definite strength in numbers in that regard. If you plan to do the reset, I definitely recommend finding a buddy (or 90), because having close friends and relatives PLUS a support group has made this process so much easier for me. M also introduced me to the most amazing raspberry tea. Seriously, do yourselves a favor and check out Harney and Sons, Red Raspberry tea. You’re welcome.

The kids got along so well it was unreal. There was NO drama at all, which NEVER happens in my experience. It was so nice. I ate my lunch (microgreen salad with avocado and garlic dressing with toasted pumpkin seeds) before I left the house. I also prepared my dinner (baked sweet potato with garlic veggies) before I left the house and brought it with me. Both meals were awesome. In fact, I am pretty sure the microgreen salad will be my lunch going forward (most days anyway). I just love it. We didn’t leave Brooklyn until close to 8:00, so it was right to bed for O and S when we got home. Camp Mom day 1? Success!

Day 15 3/4-Day 16- O woke up at around 10:45 from a bad dream. She went back to sleep and then woke up a few hours later crying that her ear was hurting her. She was begging me to take her to the doctor. Say what? It was so sad trying to explain that we had to wait a few hours until the office opened. She passed out from sheer exhaustion at around 5:00 am. We got the first available appointment and lo and behold. She has yet another ear infection. She has had 5 of them this year, which is more than her previous three years combined. Poor kiddo. At the least the medicine is pink.

Dinner was curried cauliflower with lemon-pepper kale. This was so good. I really loved it and can’t wait to have it again. Bonus, it was so easy to prepare, which after 2 plus weeks of heavy food prep was a nice break. Side note: I definitely made the food prep aspect of the reset a LOT harder than it needed to be. There are many options and hints for making it easier and less time consuming. However, I got it into my head that I needed to try every single recipe so there was a lot of food waste and a TON of prep. I have since given up this quest.

Leave a Reply

